Virna De Paul's Turned: ARC Review #FollowFriday & Giveaway

Perfect for fans of J. R. Ward, Nalini Singh, and Lara Adrian, bestselling author Virna DePaul’s new series of paranormal romances introduces readers to a thrilling world where vampires secretly co-exist with humans, seduction rules the night, and the stakes are nothing less than life and undeath.

9780345542458

Welcome to a mesmerizing world where vampires hide among humans. This centuries-old species has its own rules, code of conduct, and taboos. Only the FBI knows that vampires exist—and although the Bureau agrees to keep their secret, it also plots to give humans the upper hand.

Turning mortals into vampires is forbidden.

But there are creatures who refuse to play by the rules.

Ever since he was turned, FBI special agent Ty Duncan has had one mission: bring rogue vampires to justice. As a recruiter for Belladonna, a shadow agency formed to keep vampires in check, Ty must tap Ana Martin, a troubled ex–gang member and one of the few mortals who can infiltrate places that his kind and the law cannot. From their first encounter, Ty fights a hunger to make Ana his own.

When Ty claims to have information about Ana’s missing sister, Ana has no choice but to trust this captivating stranger who awakens her deepest desires. But as she and Ty climb the heights of pleasure and passion, an enemy is conspiring to destroy them both.

Can Ana help Ty find his humanity in a love that could heal them both, or will their passion lead them into a darkness impossible to escape?

REVIEW:

Turned has the perfect blend of Dark, Gritty, Sexual Intensity, and Action Packed Romance I’ve had the pleasure of reading in 2014! Someone recently told me that Vampire Romance was dead. Well that was not the case with DePaul’s new Belladonna agency series! The opening of the book sucked me in and wouldn’t turn me loose until the very end. That sI will say was the only part of the journey I didn’t enjoy. I wanted to get started on the next part of the story.

The book opens up on a dark scene…

“He woke to the ugly whine of a power tool.”

I was right there with Ty in that room, disoriented and wondering what the heck is going on! But it get s better… much better. You realize that Ty’s been turned against his will, held captive and now works for the FBI, and even as that sounds intriguing you get to my next favorite line in the book as you read further….. Ty is jonesing after his next assignment… Ana and he wants her bad.

“Next to seeing her smile outright, there were only two things he wanted more. To fuck her. Hard. And to drink her blood while he was doing it”.

WOO WEE! Now that’s a bad ass alpha vampire for you. Straight and to the point. You don’t think of sparkles there do you ? The interaction between the hero and the heroine was nice and I loved the way the relationship was flash fire hot with no chance of ever burning out!

You get right from the start that Ty doesn’t like how he was turned, and who wouldn’t. Everyone wants to have a choice. But I think that in the midst of his angst and anger, there is something to be said about how he carried his vampire persona. Ana is smart mouth and hard. It took me a while to see behind the armour but with any hero or heroine you have to peel back the layers to get to their layers. Take your time and go on the journey with them.

Love the conspiracy that is taking place, The Queen, The FBI, and The Rogues…. It’s just the right amount of everything that makes for the perfect combination!

There were some open plots that I am sure we will see come to a close in later series. The secondary characters were strong and made me interested in their stories. I love the way the story is broken down into parts. The story is well written, fast paced and keep the reader immersed in the story line. I’m looking forward to the next in the series!

Every Friday visit our site and meet Virna’s Vixens – fabulous street team members, who volunteer their time and effort to share news about Virna’s books. In return . . . . #Giveaways!

– 1 print preview of TURNED, the first book in the Belladonna Agency series to a US winner, 18 years or older.

 

Virna De Paul's #FollowFriday Turned out April 2014!

9780345542458

Click the photo to Pre-Order the book.

Perfect for fans of J. R. Ward, Nalini Singh, and Lara Adrian, bestselling author Virna DePaul’s new series of paranormal romances introduces readers to a thrilling world where vampires secretly co-exist with humans, seduction rules the night, and the stakes are nothing less than life and undeath.

Welcome to a mesmerizing world where vampires hide among humans. This centuries-old species has its own rules, code of conduct, and taboos. Only the FBI knows that vampires exist—and although the Bureau agrees to keep their secret, it also plots to give humans the upper hand.
 
Turning mortals into vampires is forbidden.
 
But there are creatures who refuse to play by the rules.

Ever since he was turned, FBI special agent Ty Duncan has had one mission: bring rogue vampires to justice. As a recruiter for Belladonna, a shadow agency formed to keep vampires in check, Ty must tap Ana Martin, a troubled ex–gang member and one of the few mortals who can infiltrate places that his kind and the law cannot. From their first encounter, Ty fights a hunger to make Ana his own.
“If you’re looking for a hot, sexy, emotional read, Virna DePaul delivers!”

When Ty claims to have information about Ana’s missing sister, Ana has no choice but to trust this captivating stranger who awakens her deepest desires. But as she and Ty climb the heights of pleasure and passion, an enemy is conspiring to destroy them both.

Can Ana help Ty find his humanity in a love that could heal them both, or will their passion lead them into a darkness impossible to escape?

Advance praise for Turned
 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author J. Kenner
“A captivating start to a fascinating new series with a hero that’s to die for.”—Bestselling author Rhyannon Byrd

“Virna DePaul creates yummy alpha heroes.”New York Times bestselling author Tina Folsom

“With Turned, Virna DePaul delivers a sexy and exciting new take on the vampire novel, one that comes complete with a kick-ass heroine and a to-die-for hero. I can’t wait for the sequel!”—Tracy Wolff, bestselling author of Ruined

Turned is intense, intricate, and insomnia inducing (plan to stay up way too late!). Virna DePaul puts the awesome in the awesomesauce of paranormal romance.”—Joyce Lamb, curator, USA Today’s Happy Ever After

“The chemistry between the two was great and made for some very sexy scenes.”Fresh Fiction

“This book has everything you could want and so, so much more!”Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews

Turned is an intriguing story with flawed characters who I connected with immediately. Fans of paranormal romance rejoice, here’s a compelling new series to sink your teeth into.”Harlequin Junkie

EXCERPT 

“I can’t deny what I feel for you anymore, Ana. Not for another second.”

Confusion spread over her face. She gave her head a brief shake, as if to order the tangled thoughts there.

“I’m jealous of your relationship with Miguel. Crazy jealous. And I don’t know what the hell to do about that.”

Ana was stunned speechless, but eventually, she tried to respond to Ty’s bomb. She opened her mouth to speak, to clarify, but he didn’t give her time. Instead, he covered her mouth with his.

His kiss was life-giving, so utterly sensual and so welcome that she wanted to weep with gratitude.

She remembered this. This feeling of rightness she’d only truly felt once before—in his arms the night she’d found out what he was. A vampire. A man worth giving herself to.

Her mouth welcomed his tongue even as her hands reacquainted themselves with his body, shoving underneath his shirt to feel the muscles that rippled in his arms, chest, and back. She hitched one leg over his hip, gasping when he grasped her thigh and jerked it up higher while doing the same to her other leg until they were wrapped around his waist. He carried her to the huge white bed, then fell backward with her on top of him. Kissing frantically, they got completely naked and she tried to reverse their positions, but he held her down by her hips and shook his head. “No,” he said roughly. “This time you take me.”

She hesitated. He’d asked this of her in their shared dream, and she’d been able to do it. But now?

With all her experience, she’d never actually had sex with a man while she’d been on top. In a way, wielding that control and having to take what she wanted scared her.

Ty caressed her hip and whispered, “Do it. Just like you did in that dream. Take what you want. Take it how you want for real. I’m yours. Here. Now. I’m yours.”

She blinked, both touched by his words and tormented by them. She wanted so badly for him to be hers.

Impatient with her momentary silence, he wrapped a hand behind her neck and pulled her down for a kiss. She sank into it even as she ground her pelvis against his. He’d brought her so much pleasure before. She wanted to feel that pleasure again and again.

He began to trail kisses down her throat, teasing her with sharp little bites that didn’t break her skin even as he caressed her breasts and tugged on her nipples. The erotic sensation went right down between her legs. She wasn’t sure anything could feel any better until he released her breasts, gripped her hips, and positioned her so her core was balanced right over the tip of his cock.

He swirled his cock through her moist folds, whispering, “Don’t you want this? Don’t you want to feel me inside you? Filling you with everything I have?”

“Yes, yes, yes,” she chanted.

“Then take me, Ana. Please. Show me how much you want me.”

Virna DePaul

Bestselling Romance Author

Heat, Heart & HEA

Website || Facebook || Twitter